Adventures with Animation

Week Seven

What tool did you learn this week to assist you in differentiating the learning process for students?

To be perfectly honest, I spent a majority of my time this week learning how to animate.  It is still a rather frustrating work in progress.  I say that, but at the same time I have been enjoying myself.  The major difficulty of doing flash animation is simply keeping things organize.  This could be a good practice for students, as they would need to stop, think, and label each layer as they added it.

There is a lot of potential to be had with learning animation.  However, the process is very long, grueling, and rather advanced.  At least it was for me.  And who am I to assume that the students will think the same as me?  They’d probably fiddle around with it one night and then immediately become masters… No, I’m sure they would need SOME guidance.  But it would certainly bring out who is motivated and who just wants a grade.

I initially started off with Adobe Pro 6, as a friend of mine is hoping that I will help him with his YouTube channel.  I’m currently working my way through the 30 day trial.  It’s a decent program; relatively easy to use, provided that you know what you’re looking at.  Fortunately, there are a lot of videos on YouTube that give some great tutorials.  As I was studying, I kept thinking there must be simpler software.  I had heard someone talking about BoomToon somewhere.  I went to check that out as well.

I discovered that BoomToon uses basically the same system, everything is just moved around to different spots!  Actually, some things are laid out in a more simplified manner, but you still have to understand the groupings in order to understand their function.

I suppose it comes down to how much time does a teacher REALLY want to invest in implementing such a tool?  If you can come up with a wide assortment of uses for animation, then it is well worth the time.  However, if you are only planning on producing one or two projects, I would recommend another medium of expression.

P.S. I would also like to state that we should be able to do mocap animation by now! Maybe we can already. Is it possible to use the Xbox Kinect to animate a group of symbols? I feel I should put that creepy machine to other uses– I’m kind of tired of it taking pictures of me during compromising positions while I’m playing some of my games!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Adventures with Animation

  1. Would like to use animation, but I think the learning curve at this point is a little too steep for this year. I know some of my students would pick it up, and may already use it while others would really struggle. The digital divide is pretty wide between many of my students. This is where enlisting the students that are tech. savvy into leadership and teaching roles would be helpful. Animation I am sure is a good way to engage students.

Leave a Reply

