5 Unknown Words… The final review

I have finally completed my tech project with my borrowed kindergarten class, edited the videos and lived to tell the tale!  Actually, it wasn’t that bad, nor dramatic.  Three artifacts of high quality, satisfactory, and needing improvement are provided for your viewing pleasure at my VoiceThread  https://voicethread.com/share/4511452/.

I must admit, this project took a lot more time than I anticipated.  I was not as familiar with the students as I had originally thought.  Some of the K4’s had a lot of difficulty reading the very basic sight words such as “the” and “she.”  They, of course, took a lot more time, patience and prompting.  Even getting a full story out of the students proved more difficult that I had expected.  The students simply were not conditioned for as smooth of a project as I was hoping for.  Had this been my own class, where I taught these students on a daily basis, the process would have been much different.  I would have had the opportunity to pre-condition the students for such an endeavor.  But we made do with what was available to us.

Also, there were a few students who were got for a majority of the developmental time.  It was extremely difficult to get them caught up during the very limited time that I had in the classroom.

The students absolutely LOVED using the equipment.  They were completely blown away that I was going to let them use my iPod (yes, it is rather sacred).  I was a little worried that they wouldn’t understand how to use the hardware properly.  Silly teacher—Tech is for kids!  They were zipping through that iPod and knew better than I how the take pictures with the Kindle Fire.  When I cut them loose to work on their movies, it was chaotic, but it was an engaged, collaborating, and creative chaos.  It was fantastic to see.  And they did such a great job!

This is a project I will definitely do again.  I would need to start earlier and condition the children into undertaking such a product.  I would also like to give the students the opportunity to edit their own videos, but first things first.  They had fun and now they have a product they can share with friends and family.

Here are some of the resources that I used:

Graphs– http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx

Dolch list– http://bogglesworldesl.com/dolch/lists.htm

VoiceThread– http://voicethread.com/

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

