“Like a G6” Math Tutoring Outline

 

Unfortunately illness knocked me for quite the loop this week.  In trying to play catch up, but overall outline of this unit I am trying to create has been a bit complicated.  I am getting very overwhelmed by big picture.  I am trying to pick apart what I can, but sometimes I feel like my brain is just going to explode!

Here’s what I can write out for now:

Context:  I am currently tutoring a jr. high student.  Her mother requested that her tutoring continue on over the summer.  I figured this was a great opportunity to put together a tool that I can actually utilize with my current student.  We’ll call her “M.”  M is going into 8th grade, but has not been progressing in her math.  When I took M on, I assessed her understanding of math, and came to recognize that she was at about a 5th grade level.  She was very much a kinetic learner, but could only focus on one activity at a time.  M has gaps in her basic math skills.  She does not know her times tables very well, and still uses her fingers for basic arithmetic.  My goals are to rebuild where those gaps are happening; increase her ability to perform basic arithmetic; and thereby increase her confidence in her mathematical ability.

Constraints:  I will be meeting with M once a week.  It was 2 during the school year, but that was school.  If I incorporate a blended unit, I can have the valuable one and one time, and supplement that with online activities.  I am going to set the time for 8 sessions, which would be approximately a 2 month period.  I am sure that there are going to be weeks over the summer that we won’t be doing math.  I will need to have incentives for M to participate online otherwise M will not do it.  Currently, I am just not sure what to use for the motivation.  Edmodo does have great badge system… I’m just not sure that M would be all that interested in that.  We’ll see.

I feel ill-prepared.  But to be perfectly honest, I’m not entirely confident in how all these pieces will fall into place.  Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Here is the link to my rather lame outline using the Unit Design template. Again, feedback (or just outright explanation) is appreciated. It’s been awhile since I’ve done EDET 628! https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B1jL3XInh-vgWER5UExZQV9zZjQ/edit?usp=sharing

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to ““Like a G6” Math Tutoring Outline

  1. Possible suggested essential question: What do decimals represent? What does the lowest common denominator represent?

    Help from other more math-savvy colleagues would be great!

    Lee

  2. Tiffany it looks as though I’ll be tutoring a student in math this summer as well, I was really excited to hear my potential student has a strong interest in photography as well as computer based tools. I’m going to spend some time this week coming up with fun tasks involving algebra, photography, art in general. Am hoping to give out a task each week that has the student find examples of some math concept and capture it with the lens.

    • Colin… that’s epically awesome! I like that idea of a fun task each week! What a great incentive! I’m going to work that angle.

      • While sitting on a beach this past week I thought of using a photograph to determine the slope of a mountain silhouetted in the distance by overlaying a cartesian coordinate system over top. Should be a fun start. I looked over some of the Algebra standards yesterday and it’s clear to me that I need to get back into sample problems myself.

Leave a Reply

