Data Collection– Week 3

Data collection continues…

This week’s interactions were shortened by parent/teacher conferences.  However, it was still quite the progressive week.  The teacher loaded even more fantastic apps onto the class iPad.  The students and I had a great time interacting with these activities.

FriendStrip Kids. FriendStrip Kids (2013) is an iPad app that allows the user to create her own comic strip by taking her own pictures and posing people to align with the special effects.  Conversation bubbles can be edited to say whatever the creator wishes.  This was a great app for introducing students in how to the digital camera.  Students needed to gauge how far/close their model needed to be in order to be in the proper frame.  Comic strips can then be shared!  This example is one that the teacher did with my daughter, and then sent it to me.  I just love it!

friendstrip exemplar

Winston Show.  The Winston Show (2013) was recommended to my collaborating teacher by another parent.  It is a hilarious app!  By interacting with the talk show host “Winston” the user can make choices that helps create a story and take quizzes about their general learning.  The host is charming and riddled with delightfully bad jokes.

Pocket projector.  I finally managed to wrangle all the pieces of my personal pocket projector to share the iPad view with the students.  I purchased this piece of hardware for my personal business.  However, my husband occasionally uses it for doing presentations at his work as well.  The model I got was originally oriented for a PC.  However, my husband (after MUCH research) acquired all the necessary adapters.  The students loved it!  They were excited about seeing themselves on “TV.”  A moment may need to be taken to get all the “goofy pictures” out of their systems.  http://www.amazon.com/AAXA-P4X-Projector-Lumens-Battery/dp/B007CWDFP6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1382769211&sr=8-2&keywords=pocket+projectors

Texts on Pictures. Texts on Pictures (2013) is just that.  Take a picture.  Open a box anywhere on the picture and type your text.  I love simple apps!  With the excitement of the projector, I incorporated some spelling practice.  I took a picture of the students, then opened a box on their pic.  I had that student choose one of their spelling words to spell.  When the keyboard popped up on the projected wall, I had the student go over and “push” each letter for spelling (then I would type it in for them).  This necessitated the student saying the letter out loud.  I foresee that this could evolve into one student spelling and the other potentially typing… but we shall see.  They did very well with this activity and it incorporated kinetic learning—which is very helpful these days.

Compound Words Montessori.  Compound Words Montessori (2013) is an educational app that allows students to practice pairing words to create compound words.  The color coding and set up help aide students through logical patterns.  Once the words have been put together, the students then pair the words with pictures.  It’s fantastic.  I worked with students who hadn’t quite gotten to compound words in their studies yet—they picked it right up.  They were able to read the words and properly match them with their picture.  I would count that as a reading success which abides by State Standards.

So it’s been an eventful week, even if it was a short one.  I’m not necessarily looking forward to compiling my data… but I have had fun acquiring it!

References

Photoinpress. (2013). Friendstrip kids. (1.0.4). [iPad]. Retrieved from iTunes store.

ToyTalk Ince. (2013). Winston show. (1.4). [iPad]. Retrieved from iTunes store.

Yuan Changbo. (2013). Texts on pictures. (2.0). [iPad]. Retreived from iTunes store.

MontessoriTech LLC. (2011). Compound words montessori. (1.1). [iPad]. Retrieved from iTunes store.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Data Collection– Week 3

  1. Colin posted this really cool rubric for iPad app evaluation and a list of interesting apps for ELL: http://www.scoe.org/files/ipad-for-els.pdf
    Thought you might be interested. Cheers!

  2. Tiffany, I loved your app tips so much that I copy pasted them and created a new file marked, “Things I Want To Try!” I love the comic strip app. My little first graders would love that. I’m wondering if I can used something like that to make Christmas gifts for kids to give their parents this year. Pretty ambitious but I might be able to pull it off. Thanks for gathering your data and making it so clear.

Leave a Reply

