What my quiz said about me!

What does the way you play have to do with embracing change and how does this impact you as a professional?

Here are my results from the Bartle Test of gamer philosophy:

Your gamerDNA is:

Explorer

                       

The Explorer motto: “No stone unturned!

… Is it a bad thing that I’m surprised I don’t have much higher killer instincts?  I also expected my achiever level to be higher, because I am a very goal oriented person, especially when it comes to gaming.  I loooooooooove getting my trophies.  This quiz almost primarily focused on MMORPG’s, which while I’m a huge fan of the RPG’s, I generally don’t like to play games I have to subscribe to, because I do recognize my addiction to gaming and I need things to end.  But I digress.

What does this say about how I embrace change and how do does it affect my professionalism?  It’s true—I never leave a stone unturned!  You just never know what you’re missing!  I have always appreciated the approach to non-traditional learning.  Some kids just don’t fit inside the box of the education system.  Now that I have a daughter that fits that description, I am all the more in favor of championing this cause.  What other options are out there that we are missing and denying our students? 

Alice Keeler (2014) spoke in her Google Hangout on Game Based Learning about how some students didn’t take risks when they knew they were receiving a grade.  I believe the same can be said about teachers when they are being so closely monitored in how they are imparting the CCSS or other state standards.  When you’re job depends on it, it’s a big deal to take risks in how you teach.  If the assessor recognizes that you are teaching the “traditional” way, for some reason, that means it’s not you, it must be the kids.  Pete Rorabaugh and Jesse Stommel (2014), the creators of “Twitter vs Zombies” alluded to the happenings of the same restrictions.  We live in a time of incredibly technology and extremely creative ways of learning.  However, we also have tremendous amounts of red tape blocking the way.  As educators in the field of educational technology, one of our biggest jobs is to not lose hope, but to keep chipping away at the stigmas around games in the classroom and record our findings—justifying that there is a rhyme to our untraditional reason.

Douglas Thomas and John Seely Brown (2011) compared education to the saying, “Give a man a fish and he’ll eat for a day; teach a man to fish, and feed him for a lifetime.”  The idea is that one way of static teaching covers all aspects of our modern life.  However, it doesn’t.  Life is in a constant state of change, and society adapted to the rapid evolution of technology.  As educators, we may be able to teach that “man” (student) to “fish”… but we’re missing out on a lot of good fishing if we neglect to embrace the change that we are immersed in.

I really appreciated the videos from the Google community that I was able to watch.  The “Twitter vs Zombies” was an interesting concept that I hadn’t heard about, but I am anxious to take part in a session myself.  I was thrown into Twitter when I first began this program, and I am glad that I’m getting the hang of it, because I was a bit behind my students.  I can be rather stubborn when it comes to personal preferences.  I enjoyed Colin’s sharing about how to set up educational Minecraft in the classroom, or possibly a home school setting.  I only play Minecraft on my Xbox, because my computer is sadly too slow to handle it.  However, I do find myself wishing that I could share my (and my husband’s) creations with others.  I’m sure there’s a way to do so on Xbox live… but some of those unsupervised 12 year olds running around that network are just downright scary!  I have made extensive use of the Minecraft wiki’s and YouTube videos that Colin was talking about.  I hadn’t heard about Drakkart previously, but I will be sure to check him out, because that guy looks like he knows what he’s talking about!  And I especially enjoyed Alice Keller’s hangout.  I love Game Based Learning, and when I get back into the classroom, I really just want to rock that for all it’s worth!  James Paul Gee!  Whoo!

 

References

gamerDNA. (2014). Bartle test of gamer psychology. Accessed at http://www.gamerdna.com/quizzes/.

Keeler, A. (2014). Getting started with games based learning. Google Hangouts.  Accessed at https://plus.google.com/u/0/110129890717354735708/posts.

Rorabough, P. & Stommel, J. (2014). Twitter vs zombies.  Google Hangouts. Accessed at https://plus.google.com/u/0/110129890717354735708/posts.

Thomas, D. & Brown, J.S. (2011). A new culture of learning cultivating the imagination for a world of constant change.  [Kindle edition].

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What my quiz said about me!

  1. Nicole Fuerst

    Tiffany,
    I really liked your discussion about Alice Keeler’s thoughts about risks and grades and how you equated that to teachers and risks and monitoring. Those are the same questions I’ve been pondering since my school district instituted a new teacher observation tool and methodology. Do explorers still take risks even when they are being assessed? Do they play it safe? Does it really matter to the administrator? Does an administrator want to see a teacher take a risk?

Leave a Reply

